LAX to Louisville is a Direct Flight Now on American

Which way to Fun in the Kentucky Sun?

TALLY HO!  If Kentucky isn’t on your radar for a getaway, Angelenos… it’s simpler now. American Airlines just launched direct flights – LAX <-> SDF – to open up a lotta fun in as short or long a trip as imaginable. Two years ago, Larry and I hit a few spots in Kentucky on a road trip, and regretted only having a couple of days there.

Thanks to a reception in LA hosted by Kentucky Tourism, Larry and I were reminded of what we missed… hey, let’s go back!  The point of the event was to announce that Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) added an American Airlines direct flight to Louisville (SDF) in March, 2019. It’s not the only option to get there, but it’s a direct one (albeit a red eye eastbound).

Seriously, there is NO WAY to stuff all the things to do in Kentucky into this post. So, 1) pick your travel dates, 2) book flights, then 3) go to the Kentucky Tourism Board website and plan an itinerary. Even just the Bourbon Trail experience is worth the trip, you won’t find anything like that elsewhere.

Larry and I had been talking about going to the Kentucky Derby for a few years and now squeamish due to the recent media unearthing of the staggering number of daily horse deaths in the horse race world. We’re processing that as I write. Hey, skip the racing… there’s still an overabundance of experiences for any interest.

Horses… Bourbon… Beer… Bluegrass… Cuisine… Barbecue… Architecture… History…

With little time to spare on our road trip (2 nights), we focused on the Historic Lexington area and hit:

  • A teensy bit of history – Mary Todd House SO interesting
  • A “school sport” interest of Larry’s –  U of K was gearing up for a baseball game that day
  • Something traditional – Thoroughbred Horse Park, beautiful
  • Something delicious – Larry sipped Bourbon, and we both savored Barbecue

Mary Todd Lincoln house is a good use of your time here.

He’s got the look of an excited kid on his face.

 

Seriously YUM barbecue in Kentucky.

You can hike and bike. You can shop ’til you drop. You can visit museums galore. And if all you want is to EAT and DRINK, check out these (2019 dates from this post):

Tater Day Festival, March 30 – April 2, 2019 http://www.marshallcountykyfair.com/

Hickman Co. Spring Chicken Festival – April 26-27,  http://www.clintonhickmancountychamber.com/spring-chicken-fest

Mountain Mushroom Festival, April 27-28, http://www.mountainmushroomfestival.org/

International Bar-B-Q Festival, May 11-12,  http://www.bbqfest.com/

A Taste of the Bluegrass, May 17, https://godspantry.org/events/taste-of-the-bluegrass/

BBQ, Blues & Bikes – May 25,  www.bbqbluesfest.com

Rods & Ribs BBQ Festival – June 1, http://cityofcentralcity.com/event/rods-ribs-bbq-festival/

A Taste of Newport, June 2, http://www.newportky.gov/Blogs/Events/Archives/2019/01/2019-Festivals-in-Newport.aspx

Newport Italianfest, June 13-16, http://www.newportky.gov/Blogs/Events/Archives/2019/01/2019-Festivals-in-Newport.aspx

Fort Harrod Beef Festival, June t.b.d., http://www.fortharrodbeeffestival.org

Bluegrass BBQ Fest, June 7-8, https://www.bluegrassbbqfest.com/

Maysville Uncorked! Wine and Art Festival – June 8, http://www.cityofmaysville.com/contact/maysville-uncorked-wine-and-art-festival/

Winchester Beer Cheese Festival, June 8, www.beercheesefestival.com

W.C. Handy Blues & Barbecue Festival, June 12-15, www.handyblues.org

Barbourville BBQ Festival Cook Off, June 14-15, http://www.barbourvilletourism.com/festivals/bbq-cookoff

Kentucky Craft Beer Festival – June t.b.d. , https://kentuckycraftbeerfestival.com/

Pabrewcah Brew Fest – June 1, http://pabrewcah.com/

Well Crafted – June t.b.d. , https://shakervillageky.org/event/well-crafted-brews-bands/

Kentucky Craft Bash – June 22, www.kycraftbash.com

Alltech Craft Brews & Food Fest – July 5, https://www.kentuckyale.com/events/alltech-craft-brews-and-food-fest-0

Bacon, Bourbon & Brew Festival, July 11-14, http://www.newportky.gov/Blogs/Events/Archives/2019/01/2019-Festivals-in-Newport.aspx

Louisville Blues, Brews & BBQ Festival – July 21-22, http://www.louisvillebluesandbbqfestival.com/

Spice Up Barbecue Festival, July t.b.d, https://www.facebook.com/Spice-up-Annual-BBQ-Festival-1860870730601958/

Annual Dawson Springs Barbecue – July t.b.d., http://dawsonspringsky.com/wpnew/

Glier’s Goettafest, August 1-4, http://www.goettafest.com/

Annual Maysville Oktoberfest – August 9-10, http://maysvilleoktoberfest.org/

Great Inland Seafood Festival, August 8-11, http://www.newportky.gov/Blogs/Events/Archives/2019/01/2019-Festivals-in-Newport.aspx

Crave Lexington, August 24-25, www.cravelexington.com

Monroe County Watermelon Festival, September t.b.d., https://www.facebook.com/Monroe-County-Watermelon-Festival-268296889945341/

Knott County Gingerbread Festival – Sept. 5-7, https://www.facebook.com/knottgingerbreadfestival/

Kentucky State BBQ Festival, September 6-8, http://kentuckybbqfestival.com/

Banana Festival – Sept. t.b.d. http://thebananafestival.com/

Trimble County Apple Festival – September 7-8, http://www.trimbleapplefest.org/index.html

Pecan Festival – September t.b.d., http://greatriverroad.com/meetohio/moeventpages/hickmanpecan.htm

Kentucky Bourbon Festival – September 18-22, https://www.kybourbonfestival.com/

Pig Out Maysville – September t.b.d., https://www.facebook.com/Pig-Out-Maysville-546641875718917/

Spoonbread Festival – Sept. 20-22, https://www.spoonbreadfestival.com/

Morganfield Corn Festival, September 26-28, http://www.morganfieldcornfestival.com/

Bourbon and Beyond – September t.b.d., http://bourbonandbeyond.com/

Newport Oktoberfest, September 27-29, http://www.newportky.gov/Blogs/Events/Archives/2019/01/2019-Festivals-in-Newport.aspx

Clarkson Honeyfest – Sept. t.b.d., http://www.clarksonhoneyfest.com/

Barbecue on the River, September 26-28, http://www.bbqontheriver.org/

Anderson County Burgoo Festival, September 27-29, http://www.kentuckyburgoo.com

World Chicken Festival, September 26-29, http://www.worldchickenfestival.com

Marion County Country Ham Days, September 27-29, http://marioncountykychamber.com/ham-days/

Morgan County Sorghum Festival – September 27-29, https://www.morgancountysorghumfestival.com/

Casey County Apple Festival – September 26-28, http://www.caseycountyapplefestival.org/

Roebling Reserve Bourbon Conference & Festival – October t.b.d., https://roeblingreserve.com/

Kentucky Apple Festival – October 4-5, http://kyapplefest.org/

Trigg County Country Ham Festival, October 11-12, http://hamfestival.com/

Bourbon & Brewfest – October 26, www.bgbrewfest.com

The Original Butchertown Oktoberfest – October, t.b.d., The Original Butchertown Oktoberfest

https://www.facebook.com/OriginalButchertownOktoberfest/

Bardstown Craft Beer Festival – October t.b.d., http://www.ncnextgen.org/events/bardstown-craft-beer-festival

Maiden Alley Oktoberfest, October 19-21,  http://maidenalleyoktoberfest.com/

Big Buffalo Crossing BBQ Cook-Off – October 17-19,  https://www.visitmunfordville.com/events/

Thoroughbred Park

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

1 Sikha Chamoli July 18, 2019 at 5:09 am

Really Appreciating!!
Thanks

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: